Lessons to learn: Igniting a passion for learning!

NovaNews

I don’t regularly watch Toastmaster speeches.  In fact there has only been one occasion in my life that I’ve attended a Toastmaster meeting – and that was many years ago when as a member of a choir we were offered the chance to perform as the evening entertainment of a local Toastmaster’s Christmas dinner celebration!  But when I saw this video of the 1st place winner of the 2014 World Championship of Public Speaking Competition – Dananjaya Hettiarachichi – I was blown away!

Apart from a brilliant oration, his words are a gift to educators!   As he recounted the path of his life and told about the opportunity he had to get a job with a friend of his Dad’s, he remarks:

Everyday after work he used to tell me stories ….. about the world, about history about culture about philosophy and it was much more interesting than what I…

View original post 91 more words

About petraspets2

Love to read, love to learn. Teacher Librarian in a PYP School in Australia.
This entry was posted in Web. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons to learn: Igniting a passion for learning!

  1. NovaNews says:

    Thanks for reblogging here!

Comments are closed.